Thursday, September 24, 2026

Latest Posts

Why Mastercard’s $25 billion crypto expansion isn’t what it seems

SoFi Bank and Mastercard have announced SoFiUSD settlement is live for the bank’s debit and credit card program, moving their March plan into production.

The rollout puts a token-based settlement route behind familiar card payments and, according to SoFi, gives participating merchants a way to receive dollars in a bank account without holding the token. SoFi expects more than $25 billion in annualized card-program volume after migration; it has not disclosed how much has actually settled in SoFiUSD.

The migration remains underway. Cardholders can keep using existing cards, while SoFi describes a bank-account cash route for merchants and separate redemption rules for token holders. Those groups encounter different parts of the arrangement, so a live blockchain transaction alone says little about the scale of merchant benefit or token-holder access.

From a planned rail to live settlement

The March partnership announcement described SoFiUSD settlement as a future option. The companies’ September release says transactions are now occurring on a blockchain for SoFi Bank’s card program. The full-program migration is still in progress, and SoFi has not given a completion date.

SoFi expects the program to process more than $25 billion annually using SoFiUSD after that migration. The figure is a projection of card activity at an eventual run rate. SoFi has not disclosed the amount or share of transactions already settled in the token. That missing denominator prevents readers from treating the projected program size as the stablecoin’s observed throughput.

Related Reading

Mastercard frantically doubles down on crypto to avoid becoming irrelevant and losing control

The token operates behind cards people already carry. SoFi says merchants need no stablecoin holdings or new infrastructure to use its proposed route, and the companies describe no requirement for consumers to acquire crypto at checkout. The visible card payment and the settlement path can therefore change on different schedules.

Read More:  Brazil's B3 gets DIGY11, a new ETF tracking Bitcoin treasury preferred stock

For merchants, the useful measure is when settlement becomes spendable cash. The September release offers no measured before-and-after comparison of that timing or of cost for this program. A working transaction establishes operating status; merchant-level results would establish the economic effect.

SoFi says businesses using its Big Business Banking platform can receive settlement funds immediately in a SoFi Bank account and access cash around the clock without holding SoFiUSD. That is the bank’s product claim. The September release names no live outside merchant settlement customer and says discussions with large US merchants continue. Its April platform announcement described business deposit accounts, continuous fiat and token transfers, and mint-and-burn conversion as capabilities the platform would include.

In the arrangement SoFi describes, the merchant’s usable balance is held in a bank account while the stablecoin moves value through settlement. That division could spare a business from managing a token wallet. Actual outside-merchant use and measured cash-availability gains would show how far the capability extends beyond SoFi’s own card program.

Diagram of SoFiUSD card settlement: March plan became live September 22, more than $25 billion annualized card volume is projected after migration, and actual token-settled volume is undisclosed.

Account dollars and token rights

A merchant paid into a bank account and a party receiving SOFID on-chain hold different claims. The issuer’s redemption and risk terms govern the token holder; the card transaction itself does not make the shopper or merchant a direct redemption customer.

Read More:  Strive adds $12 million to its dividend tab after issuing nearly one million new preferred shares to buy Bitcoin